Iron Front – Strike Anywhere

Last week one of my favourite political punk rock artists, the Melodic Hardcore outfit Strike Anywhere, released their latest album, Iron Front. It is an album I would highly suggest to any fan of punk, but also to those music listeners who want something a little bit more meaningful in their choices. Below I am posting three of my favorate songs from the album.

As a side note music has always been an important part in my life, as the child of a dedicated hippy, a true child of the 1960s, my brother and I were always bathed in the sounds of that era, and since then music played a major role in exposing to the existence of radical alternatives to the current economic, religious, political and social order. Along side albums like Rage Against the Machine’s Evil Empire and Anti-Flag’s The Terror State, Strike Anywhere’s Exit English was one of the most powerful albums during my transition from simple progressive to revolutionary. So I owe a lot to the music of Strike Anywhere, so I hope you enjoy their new album as much as I do.

I’m Your Opposite Number

Lower the flags
Raise Up the Earth
Freedom ’til death
Death until birth

We’re still fighting each other
I’m your opposite number
I know we didn’t have a say
I’m your opposite number

Unwritten violence
Aristocratic outrage
Were you there?

Forgotten in all of this change
New faces same system
It’s true

Fuck You!

I’m your opposite number

Judges and victims
They rotate the symptoms
Were you there?

Forgotten in all of this change
New faces same system
It’s true

Fuck you!

Lower the flags
Raise up the Earth
Freedom ’til death
Death until birth

The Crossing

I woke up screaming
but no one heard the drying river shining
to the breathing world (what was I dreaming of…)
and I missed all the gardens all the animals’ footprints fresh in the rain
now there is only the train the beast gives wait
another master another day

in the borderlands
cities forgotten
borderlands crossing over me

so wipe the tears from your cheekbones
and the blood from your fingers
we are the ghosts in the theater of human rights
just beyond their security lights

in the borderlands cities forgotten
borderlands crossing over me
to the borderlands
rivers and mountains
borderlands
crossing over me

(crossed me)

this world is bigger than this
bigger than lines drawn by governments
illusions we’re tracked by your eyes always watching

just like the cameras twisting ’round this place
out 24,000 miles in space
always so cold and so clear
but how do we get to the world from here?

crash the system’s hate from the factory floor to the white house gate
crush the system’s hate
from the maquiladora to the White House gate

to the borderlands cities forgotten (crossing over)
borderlands
crossing over me

to the borderlands
rivers and mountains
borderlands
crossing over me

Postcards From Home

If you could see
in the dark hallways old lights flicker
strobe light shows of guernseys silver and rust
refrigeration stalled
when the fuse box blew
the medicine needed to save you
holding tight to a weapon
in the place of a toy or your mother’s hand
white diamonds red earth i
t’s slavery understand
home now is the place
between right and this
the blast still sings t
he bullets blaze
the target missed
atrocity calmly
in your narcotic bliss
this last harvest of our innocence

holding tight to a weapon
in the place of a toy or your mother’s hand
white diamonds red earth is slavery understand

postcards from post colonies,
post kingdoms
progress twisted
from sea to sea

postcards from post colonies
post kingdoms
progress twisted for you and me

you can’t walk
the light will follow you
you can’t walk away
because you’re so conditioned (like me)
you can’t walk away
this land will follow you
you can’t walk away
’cause this is home

Posted on October 13, 2009, in Music Videos, The Mainstream Media. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Iron Front – Strike Anywhere.

Comments are closed.

