Drugs Oppress the People Every Day

I recently moved back to Bermuda and ever since I can’t this track out of my mind. This is because Bermuda in recent years has seen an explosion in the lumpen drug economy, especially the horizontal violence that often goes hand-in-hand with it. This horizontal violence is now spilling over and impacting the masses of working class Bermudians, primarily Africans, and the colonial state is using it to justify greater repression of drug related offenses (which already carry hefty penalties on the Island). So like I said, I can’t get this song out of my mind…

Posted on January 17, 2012, in Drugs, Economics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Drugs Oppress the People Every Day.

  1. If you like Dead Prez, I think you might like my blog, Rhymes and Reasons. It is a series of interviews with hip-hop heads who discuss their lives in the context of a few songs that matter to them. The interviews tend to focus on questions of justice like racism, sexism, sexual violence, white privilege, etc. I hope you enjoy it.

    http://thisisrhymesandreasons.wordpress.com/

